York University expert available for comment on Nobel Prize in Physics


Ray Jayawardhana, astrophysicist and Dean of the Faculty of Science at York University, is available to comment today on the awarding of the Nobel Prize in Physics to Canadian Arthur B. McDonald and Takaaki Kajita of Japan. Jayawardhana is the author of the popular science book, Neutrino Hunters: The Thrilling Chase for a Ghostly Particle to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe, where he identified McDonald and Kajita as prime candidates to receive a Nobel. Dean Jayawardhana is available for phone and email interviews today. He can be reached at rayjay@yorku.ca.

For more information about Dean Jayawardhana and for experts on other topics in the news, please visit York U's new Experts Guide.

York University is known for championing new ways of thinking that drive teaching and research excellence. Our 52,000 students receive the education they need to create big ideas that make an impact on the world. Meaningful and sometimes unexpected careers result from cross-discipline programming, innovative course design and diverse experiential learning opportunities. York students and graduates push limits, achieve goals and find solutions to the world’s most pressing social challenges, empowered by a strong community that opens minds. York U is an internationally recognized research university – our 11 faculties and 24 research centres have partnerships with 200+ leading universities worldwide.

Media Contact:
Janice Walls, Media Relations, York University, 416 736 2100 x22101, wallsj@yorku.ca